Is rafting safe in Rishikesh

Update on COVID-19: See what additional health and safety measures the provider of this experience has put in place. Read more
Select a date and number of travelers
Safe travel during the COVID-19 crisis
Safeguards while participating in this experience
  • Regular hand washing is compulsory for travel guides
  • Contactless payment of tips and additional services
  • Mask compulsory for travelers in public areas
  • Mask requirement for guides in public areas
  • Disinfect clothing / equipment between uses
  • Hand sanitizer available for travelers and staff
Updated 10/25/2020 Company information on precautionary measures. Tripadvisor does not verify this information.
Updated 10/25/20 The information on precautionary measures is provided by the company. Tripadvisor does not verify this information.
This rafting route usually takes around 2 hours. It has about 7 rapids, both small and large. Some of the good rapids we run on this route are roller coaster (III +), golf course (III +), and clubhouse (III). These rapids are safe to raft, although there are some big waves and hydraulics. It takes about 30 minutes to an hour to drive to the trailhead, and then it takes about 30 minutes for preparation, raft inflation, and safety briefing. After the safety briefing, we get on the rafts. It's 2 hours of fun on the river with some good splashes and big hits. We end our rafting tour just before Laxman Jhula and from there it's a 5 minute drive to the Red Chilli Adventure Office.
Red Chilli Adventure, Luxman Jhula Road, Tapovan, Tapovan, Rishikesh, Uttarakhand 249192, India
Ends at the original departure point
  • Raft, life jacket, paddle and helmet
  • Private transportation
  • All taxes and fees
Services not included
  • Every meal, drinking water, and personal expenses
  • You will receive the confirmation at the time of booking.
  • Not barrier-free
  • Good connection to local public transport
  • Not recommended for people with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant women
  • Not suitable for people with heart problems or other serious illnesses
  • Average fitness level required
  • Good weather is required for this experience. Should it be canceled due to poor weather conditions, you will be offered an alternate date or a full refund.
  • A minimum number of travelers is required for this experience. Should it be canceled because the minimum number has not been met, you will be offered a different date / experience or a full refund.
  • This tour / activity will have a maximum of 48 travelers
Cancel at least 24 hours before the date of your activity for a full refund.
Traveler reviews
Payal M wrote a review Feb 2020
Mumbai, India10 contributions3 helpful votes
Date of experience: February 2020
London, United Kingdom16 contributions2 helpful votes
Date of experience: December 2019
1 helpful vote
Strider wrote a review Dec 2019
6 contributions3 helpful votes
Date of experience: December 2019
1 helpful vote
Shruthi wrote a review Nov 2019
2 posts
Date of experience: November 2019
Response from vipshar, manager in rafting in Rishikesh - 16 km
Responded Nov 18, 2019
Dear Sir / Mam, thanks for reviewing us on trip advisor. Glad you enjoyed your rafting and sorry that you missed your video of cliff jump. We used to have this option available earlier but then Govt banned videography by guides on the river. There were many complains to Govt of Uttrakhand related to rafting videos. Few guides were threatening clients to buy video from them. there were few fights between clients and guides in concern of rafting videos and Govt had to ban it. We don't allow our guides to take videos as per govt rule but few guides still can take videos. We always recommend a video company called CAM ON CLIFF if you want your video, they can take it for you from off the river as they have people sitting at every rapid. they send you your video next day.
Bengaluru, India57 contributions36 helpful votes
Date of experience: April 2019