Running Republicans in 2020

Majority of the electorate votes for Biden

The future US President Joe Biden won a clear majority in the so-called Electoral College and thus cemented his victory over incumbent Donald Trump. Biden got 306 votes in the vote of the electorate in all US states. The US Democrat needed the votes of 270 of the nation's 538 electorate. The matter is clear with that.

Trump united 232 electorates. "The flame of democracy was kindled in this nation a long time ago," said Biden after the decision. "And we now know that nothing - not even a pandemic or abuse of power - can put out that flame."

The Electoral College

According to the constitution, the US president is not elected directly by the people, but by the electorate determined at the state level, who together form the same Electoral College (electoral college). That is why the votes on this Monday were of central importance in the electoral process.

That 78-year-old Biden won the election has been certain since November 7th, when leading US media - as is customary in the United States - proclaimed him the winner. The state results were then certified.

First Republicans move away from Trump

One will now sit down with "Biden as elected president," said Republican Senator Roy Blunt, who chairs the inauguration committee. He was one of the first high-ranking Republicans to assign the role to Biden.

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell has not spoken out since Biden was confirmed by the electorate - his deputy John Thune said in advance: "As soon as Electoral College closes the subject today, it will be time for everyone to look forward." Texas Senator John Cornyn said the nature of elections is that there is a winner and a loser. As soon as Trump's legal disputes are exhausted, "Joe Biden is on his way to become President of the United States".

On January 20, 2017, the outgoing Vice President Biden had to clap for Trump - now it's the other way around

January 6th, January 20th

The final overall results of the presidential election will be officially announced on January 6th in Congress in Washington. Biden is due to be sworn in on January 20th in Washington. On that day, Trump's term of office ends automatically, even if he does not admit defeat. More than 50 lawsuits from the Trump camp against the election result have already failed. Last Friday, the Supreme Court in Washington also dismissed a lawsuit aimed at overturning Biden's victory in four states.

ml / ehl / al (rtr, ap, afp)